Cemplicity's comment moderator tool enables you to edit comments made by survey respondents. Their most common use is to remove staff names and abusive comments from the reporting view.
Comment moderation can be set to Auto-Publish, whereby all comments made by consumers will appear directly in the reporting portal, or Manual-Publish which requires a user to read and approve all comments before they appear in the reporting. The setting is managed at an individual question-level and through a Cemplicity support administrator.
You can find the comment moderator tool within the Admin tools area, in the top-right-hand menu.
Moderating a Comment
Once you have the comment moderation view loaded, editing a comment is very simple.
- Click on a text item you wish to edit, a highlighted text box will appear in its place
- Edit the text content and click out of the text box, the changes will save automatically
We recommend that edits are placed within square brackets e.g. [staff name removed], as they will then be excluded from Word Clouds.
Moderating comments on a regular and timely basis requires a resource to be made available for this. This can be an important role. This person can direct feedback to line managers for follow up, act on serious issues and may often be the same person managing the Action Register.
Important Points about Comment Moderation
- If moderation is turned on, you have the choice of whether un-moderated or moderated comments show in the Action Register and Full Survey Response
- Un-moderated comments are provided in raw data exports from the system.
Filtering Comment Status
Once a comment is captured from a survey there are three statuses the comment can be stored as. You can filter your view in the comment moderator according to these statuses.
Comments that are pending approval by a moderator will remain unpublished and are not visible in the reports. Once a moderator decides to publish the comment it can then appear in the reporting area of the portal for all users to view.
NOTE! If the question is set to auto-publish then comments will not wait in this status mode.
Once a comment is published (either manually or automatically) the comment will appear in the "Published" status. You can always moderate comments even though they are already published and are visible in the portal.
For whatever reason you as a moderator may wish to exclude a comment from the reporting altogether, moderated or un-moderated. Archiving a comment performs this exclusion process. The comments are not deleted and you can export these at any time. Common reasons for archiving comments include:
- Too much contextual information to effectively moderate (e.g. a detailed staff story that can can't be worded anonymously).
- A comment is too short or has no valuable information to report on.
- Incomprehensible content in the comment.
- Excessive volumes of comments (archiving low quality comments can help reduce the reporting "noise" for your users).
Risk Ratings (or equivalent)
Within the Cemplicity Comment Moderator you will have the ability to assign a "risk" value to each item to highlight the significance of the content. The value you assign can be transferred into reporting elements for your staff to review.
You may assign a numerical value between 0-50 to an item to indicate the risk (or similar classification process). Your organisation may already have a risk management system and protocols in place which we would recommend translating into your use of this tool if you wish.
For example, an imagined risk scale from 1-5:
- 1 = Critical Risk (immediate attention recommended)
- 2 = High Risk (action recommended)
- 3 = Low Risk
- 4 = Neutral
- 5 = Positive
Other Moderation Tools
Use the check box in each row to highlight an item for publication or archiving.
View/Apply Original Content
After an item has been moderated you can still view the original content, and restore it if desired, by clicking on this icon.
Once you are happy with your moderation of an item, you will need to publish it so it will appear in the reporting view.
If your programme uses an auto-publish approach, this step may not be necessary.
Use this icon if for whatever reason you want to discard an item from the reporting view altogether and place it into an archived status.